Submissions for the 2021 Salute Your Shorts Film Festival open December 18, 2020. Join our mailing list to receive news and updates about the festival. Click here

If you have any questions, please contact


  • Dramatic Shorts

  • Comedy Shorts

  • Genre Shorts

  • Animated Shorts

  • Documentary Shorts

  • Experimental Shorts

  • Super Short Film (under 5 minutes)

  • Pilots

  • Quarantine Creativity Challenge

We grant a $500 cash prize to our juried BEST OF FEST, $250 for our Programmer's Choice winner, and award $250 to our AUDIENCE FAVORITE.

Additionally, "Best in Category" awards are determined by jurors. We recognize WINNERS, RUNNERS-UP, and HONORABLE MENTIONS in the above categories.

If you have any questions, please contact



Ultra Earlybird Deadline: January 26, 2020

Earlybird Deadline: February 21, 2020

Early Deadline: March 18, 2020

Regular Deadline: April 11, 2020

Late Deadline: May 2, 2020

Extended Deadline: May 27, 2020

Final Deadline: June 21, 2020



This year, we are accepting films completed on or after January 1, 2018

We do not require premiere status and will consider shorts which have been made available for online viewing. 

Every submitted film will be viewed in its entirety by member(s) of our selection team. 


** Shorts vying for the "best super short film" must have credits rolling by 4:59. If your credits sequence pushes your film past 5:00, please submit it in its appropriate category (i.e., animation, comedy, drama, etc...). It will still be considered for the super short award. 


Students are welcome and should include school information in their cover letter. 

All submitted material must be the original work of the author(s) aside from copyrighted music (which we accept).


Music videos, screen-dance, and experimentally constructed films should be submitted under the experimental category. Music videos may be spec.


We accept material from anywhere in the world. All submitted material must be in English or with English subtitles. 


Entry fees are non-refundable. No refunds will be issued for any reason.

Contest applicants must accept without reservations the decisions rendered by the competition.

We do not provide screening fees.


Festival cannot provide lodging or travel stipends, but we will put traveling filmmakers in touch with affordable options. 

Upon invitation, participants will be contacted via email by the Print Traffic Coordinator with format confirmation, exhibition details, and delivery instructions.

Salute Your Shorts Film Festival Logo

1763 North Gower St.

Los Angeles, CA 90028 United States

Stay connected

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • YouTube

Designed by Nakorn Chaisri

© 2020 Salute Your Shorts Film Festival. All rights reserved.